Who We Are

965259_10151367459310876_782971500_oName: Devany

Home: San Diego
Job: Bar Manager
Countries visited: 29 and counting
Favorite hobbies: Traveling, diving, animals (especially pitbulls), snowboarding
Favorite place visited: Fakarava Island (for diving), Peru (for culture and nature)
Place I want to visit the most: Patagonia and Egypt

I am Devany. I feel my name is synonymous with “I love to travel” because it has been a driving passion of mine for as long as I can remember.

Over the years, I’ve had the tremendous opportunity of exploring about 30 countries in my 33 years on Earth and I can’t wait to see as much of the world as possible. I have traveled throughout Europe, Central and South America and driven across the US 11 times. I have lived in Italy, Santorini, Greece, and Utila Island, Honduras, where I did my PADI Divemaster internship at Parrots Dive Center (the best PADI Dive center in the world!). I enjoy traveling with friends, but also my myself (picking up new friends I meet along the way).

I have been working at an Irish bar in downtown San Diego for over 7 years, where I am a manager. I usually travel for a few months a year. Now, my wanderlust has taken full control of my mind and I am leaving my job behind to pursue a 15 month journey of a lifetime. I don’t feel I am leaving my family and friends behind. I feel, this blog is allowing them to come on this adventure with us, even if they can’t be there physically, our photography will allow them to see the amazing world we get to see.

IMG_7216Name: Alex

Home: San Diego
Job: Software Engineer
Countries visited: 20 (as of 12/2015)
Favorite hobbies: Traveling, scuba diving, snowboarding, surfing, triathlon.
Favorite place visited: French Polynesia (for diving), Iceland.
Place I want to visit the most: Patagonia, Easter Islands, Africa, South Pacific Islands.

My name is Alex. I am a 30-something year old software engineer living and working in beautiful San Diego. I was born and lived in France for more than half of my life.

My parents introduce me to travel within Europe at a very young age. My first big trip was to the USA when I was 5yo. Since then, I have always loved to travel to different countries.Experiencing different cultures is enlightening, and I really enjoy discovering new site, landscape.

However, for the last 25 years, I have not been able to travel for more than a couple weeks at a time. I went from university to graduate school to getting my Doctorate degree, then onto a full time job without a real break. Though I do make the most of my time off by traveling as much as possible. In the past 10 years, I have been to the Philippines, French Polynesia, Japan, Australia, Dubai, Iceland to name a few.

I have been working for the last 7 years at a biotechnology company, participating in developing products ( Illumina HiSeqX among them) that pave the way for personalized medicine. It has been a very challenging ( new technologies, long work hours) but very rewarding experience knowing the work I did would help improve medical care.

I feel it is time for me to take a break and go enjoy the many things  the world has to offer with the love of my life.

Since the first time I saw a whale when I was 5 yo,  I have been interesting by marine mammals and life underwater, probably also influence by videos from Jacques Cousteau. By the time we leave on our trip I will be a PADI Divemaster. I plan to make use my scuba diving ability to volunteer for Marine mammals research where we can and explore our Blue planet.

In January 2016, we are both taking a leap and leaving our jobs to start our adventure around the world.